Rocket Science

I’ve been enjoying making this 1:96 card model of a Saturn/Apollo booster. At first I got it completely wrongOops!  Start again! as there are very few instructions, and really just the photos to go on. However, the models are very accurate and good fun to make. I used to make Airfix models when I was a teenager, but this is much less modelling by numbers and I am forced to learn a huge amount about the rocket.

Apollo model 17.12.06I’ve been reading the Saturn V News Reference as a way of finding out more. I’ve always been stunned by the sheer scale of everything – the 10m rocket diameter, and especially the F1 engines. Making the model also highlights this, especially now I’m getting to the top of the stack and finding the Apollo spacecraft to be very fiddly indeed!

I’ve been using the Saturn V blueprint poster, produced by Boeing, as a reference. This prints brilliantly, and I’ve managed to get a very large (~1m long) version printed, white on a blue background. It looks great. The Apollo Maniacs website is a superb resource on all things Apollo.

One small niggle: the decals don’t seem to match any of the flight articles, although there is an Apollo 11 version. I’m not really that bothered.Apollo launches

I was going to start with the 1:48 version of the model. This would be truly huge. The 1:96 model will be about 120cm tall. Maybe one day…

More about this when I’ve finished, probably.

7 Responses to “Rocket Science”

  1. Christopher Martens Says:

    Great job! I am looking to find every manned spacecraft in the same scale. I know there is a lot of stuff in 1:144 but I really would like to find the set in at least 1:96 or, ultimately would prefer 1:48. Any leads?

  2. saturn5 Says:

    Try this. I’ve only built the Apollo/Saturn V model, but there are a few at 1:48 as well as other scales.

  3. Age Jonny Jorgensen Says:

    Hi! I’m a man from Norway in Scandinavia. When I was a kid I bought a Revell kit, put it together, and painted it as best as I could. In those days I used to look for photos of the real stuff, and adjust the model to the photos to get it as correct as possible. Dandy, a chewing gum producer in Denmark, used to accompany their chewing gum packs with photos from the Apollo Project. I used to collect these, as well as Magazine, and paper articles re. the lunar landings. I have still got the rocket and the stuff in a box. I noticed that one of the Saturn 5 rockets had a pink square painted on the very bottom where the 5 motors are connected, on section no 1 that brings the rocket off ground and up above the earth, before it is disconnected, and section no 2 takes over.

  4. Robert C Says:

    cool model. i was searching for a 1/90 sized model and this is the best one. great model

  5. doom 3 Says:

    doom 3

    Rocket Science | Hammer and Feather

  6. Shaikh Zubair Says:

    is this model papaer made, or hard plastic ?

  7. saturn5 Says:

    Hi Shaikh
    It’s a card model you print out for yourself. See the link at the start of the article.
    Rog

Leave a Reply

